Butternut squash fries

January 20, 2010 at 8:29 am (52 New, recipes, Works for Me Wednesday)

Butternut Squash Fries

I said last week that I have recently become a big fan of Butternut Squash.  It’s so sweet & yummy to my taste buds, I just love it!!  I could honestly just cut it up, bake it till it becomes tender & enjoy!!  As you already know, I do like it as a Butternut Squash Macaroni & Cheese.

But, I also really, really like it as Butternut Squash “Fries”.  I got this recipe from the Biggest Loser Cookbook.  And it’s husband AND kiddo approved!!

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 large butternut squash
1/2 teaspoon EVOO
1 teaspoon paprika
1/8 teaspoon cayenne
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon onion powder
1/8 teaspoon salt

Here’s what you’ll do:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Cut both ends off the squash.  Using a vegetable peeler, peel the rind from the squash until you’ve peeled away the pale orange outside layers.  Discard the rind.  Cut the squash in half lengthwise.  With a spoon, scrape out the seeds & discard them.  Cut 8oz (about 2 cups) of ‘sticks’.  (Refrigerate the remaining squash for another recipe).

Place the squash sticks in a medium mixing bowl.  Add the oil, paprika, cayenne, garlic powder, onion powder, and salt.  Toss to coat.  Transfer the squash to a baking sheet so the sticks are in a single layer and do not touch.

Bake, turning the squash about every 5 minutes for 22-25 minutes, or until the outsides are crisp and the insides are tender when tested with a fork.  Serve immediately.

ALL this makes just one serving at 133 calories, 3 g protein, 28 g carbohydrates, 3 g fat (trace saturated), 0 mg cholesterol, 5 g fiber & 302 mg sodium

I like the “goodness” better than regular old potato fries and I like the taste better than sweet potato fries (and actually even better than white potato fries too!!), so that’s it Works for Me.

16 Comments

  1. Kat @ TodaysCliche.com said,

    Here’s my problem… I would eat 17 servings of them! Ohh… but I love them!

  2. Lee said,

    Try squash bread, it is the yummiest!

    • It's Come To This said,

      Squash Bread??  I’ve never heard of it!  I’d love to try a recipe if you have one you like! 

  3. Alicia Klehm said,

    THose look yummy! My parents cook this squash alot. I l wanna try the mac and chesse recipe also!

    • It's Come To This said,

      One tip to try … if you do the mac & cheese, cut the squash up in tiny chunks (smaller than pictured above) & maybe she’ll be tricked easier:)

  4. Kendra Neal said,

    I am going to have to try this! I have been hearing so much about Butternut Squash lately! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Real Life Sarah said,

    Brilliant!! I have never tried this but I love Sweet potato fries, and butternut squash!

  6. jenna Food WIth Kid Appeal said,

    hi, I came over from URS. never done fries with bn squash, great idea. i love it roasted which has similar texture, diff shape. so much beta carotene with it’s good anti-inflammatory properties. gotta love orange food!

  7. GroovieMom said,

    Thanks for posting! I saw the Biggest Loser cookbook at Michael’s the other day and this was the one recipe that caught my eye. I talked myself out of buying it tho b/c the last thing I need is another cookbook. Can’t wait to try them. Have you tried any of the other recipes?

    • It's Come To This said,

      I’ve only tried a couple, but so far so good!!! I heard the BL Family cookbook is a good one too!

  8. Meghan said,

    I do this with sweet potatoes. I’ll have to try with butternut squash.

  9. Jessica said,

    Mmm…butternut squash. I never thought that squash could be so tasty! I make a butternut squash pizza from a recipe I found in Real Simple. I’ll have to try these fries out sometime!

  10. Will Blog for Shoes said,

    I’m not crazy about butternut squash, but I may have to give these a try. I don’t really like sweet potatoes, either, but I love sweet potato fries. Of course, I spent almost a year (and so many recipes) trying to make the perfect sweet potato fries, only to find (after finally getting them right) that he’s not really crazy about sweet potato fries. ARGH! Guess we’ll try him on the butternut squash!

    • It's Come To This said,

      I like sweet potato fries, but I like the butternut squash ALOT more!!  Maybe just try it & see what you think:)

Leave a comment