Butternut squash

January 15, 2010 at 9:20 am (Finer Things Friday, recipes)

This past fall I was introduced to Butternut Squash.

You know, the usual.  “Hi I’m Mandi”.  “Hi I’m Butternut Squash” … what that doesn’t happen to you?!?

The November 2009 issue of Parents Magazine had a really yummy-sounding recipe for Baked Macaroni & Cheese.  However it included Butternut Squash (we hadn’t met at this time).  The picture looked yummy so I thought I’d give it a try.

Butternut Squash

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 cups butternut squash cut into cubs
2 tsp olive oil
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 lb elbow macaroni (I used whole wheat)
2 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp flour (again, I used whole wheat)
1 1/2 cups reduced fat milk
1 3/4 cups low-fat white cheddar cheese, shredded and divided

Here’s what you’ll do: (Once I figured out how to cut that big Squash in half, I was in business!!!)

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
Toss squash with oil and salt on a foil-lined tray.
Bake for 20 minutes or until tended, set aside (or eat a few … this is when I officially became a fan of Butternut Squash … yummy!!)

Yummy!

Cook pasta for 2 minutes less than the package directions call for; drain and place in a bowl with squash.
Meanwhile, melt butter over low heat.
Whisk in flour, cook for 2 minutes
Slowly whisk in milk.
Bring mixture to a boil, then simmer.
Cook for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.   Add 1 1/2 cups cheese & stir until melted.
Stir cheese sauce into pasta & squash.
Season with Salt & Pepper.
Spoon into a greased casserole dish (or individual servings).  Sprinkle with remaining cheese.
Bake for 10 minutes until cheese on top is melted & browned.

Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese

I thought it was delicious.  My husband thought it was delicious.  The kids … not so much!!  Instead, Evan kept asking for “the other macaroni”.  As in the 3-minute, highly processed & fake cheese junk!!!!  I worked my tail off to make some yummy, nutritious Mac & Cheese & that’s what he wants … oh brother!!!

Post linked to Finer Things Friday … because Butternut Squash is now one of my finer things!

12 Comments

  1. laura said,

    This looks delicious! I’m definitely going to give it a try!

  2. kathill2006 said,

    I think the same thing would happen at our house. Adult love and kid dislike. It looks yummy though.

  3. Rebekah said,

    I have never tried butternut squash but I just might have to try this recipe!!

    • It's Come To This said,

      It has a good “sweet” flavor. Also makes yummy “Fries” … I’ll have to post that recipe too!

  4. Amy @ Finer Things said,

    I tried to fix butternut squash once… many years ago. Complete fail! Perhaps I should try it again sometime.

    • It's Come To This said,

      Well with my cooking abilities, I’m rather surprised it wasn’t a complete fail as well!!! Well actually, in my children’s opinions, I guess it was!!!

  5. Cheryl said,

    WOW – Looks and sounds good!!!!! I guess I should try it – I need SOMETHING different for dad and I to eat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Finer Things Friday: The Ability to Give | The Finer Things in Life said,

    […] Hospitality Haven9. Parenting Miracles (Having An Epiphany)10. Tara @ Feels Like Home (do good)11. Mandi @ It’s Come To This (butternut squash)12. Jenny @ Words On Wendhurst (Photography))13. Newlyweds (something new)14. Amy @ SS&GF […]

  7. Works for me wednesday … butternut squash fries « it’s come to this … said,

    […] said last week that I have recently become a big fan of Butternut Squash.  It’s so sweet & yummy to my […]

Leave a Reply

