Snow day

January 11, 2010 at 9:27 am (2010, family, snow, Snow Day)

My 2010 Snow Buddies ~ January 2010

It doesn’t take much snow in Atlanta to get everyone all excited. In fact I get excited just over seeing a few flurries.  So we can make a lot happen with just a half-inch!!!

And that’s what we got Thursday evening.  Schools closed  & Pepper was home from work.  We tried to stay warm, stay busy & have fun!!

We celebrated the Snow with an impromptu “SNOW DAY of Fun”.

We ate White SNOW Powdered Doughnuts for Breakfast.

Snow Powdered Doughnuts

Watched “SNOW” Themed Movies (Curious George Plays in the Snow, Snow Buddies, and Ice Age).

Movies & Popcorn

Ate Smores from the fire.

Yum! Yum!

And of course got some sledding fun in too!!  Poor Megan only lasted about five minutes but Evan was absolutely LOVING it!!

Sledding (on ice)

I really love the snow, but goodness gracious I get stir crazy fast!!!  I would love a big-time snow (you know, 3-4 inches – ha!), but I think now (as a parent of two little ones and not the excited teen/adult missing school or work) I’d want it all melted & gone in about two days!!  Times have definitely changed:)

IF this happens again, I’ll have to be a little more prepared!!!

7 Comments

  1. Phoebe @ Getting Freedom said,

    How clever to have a Snow themed day!

    We got snow over Christmas break, and my kids just made it back to school today! When it snows here, we hardly get any, and it’s gone fast. Notsomuch this time. Fingers crossed we do not miss any more school this year, or we will be going forever!

    • It's Come To This said,

      Yeah, I used to like snow days but it really stinks when you’re going in June just because you missed days in January!!

      My fingers are crossed for you!

  2. Christine said,

    Ditto what Phoebe said. You are so creative!

  3. Cheryl said,

    What a GREAT idea you had!!!! I KNOW the kids loved it!!!! You and Staci are SO CREATIVE!!!!!

  4. staci said,

    Who would have ever thought Cactus Mandi would be so creative ?!?! Love it!!

  5. Simply Mel said,

    Oh my goodness! I live in MA and by the end of winter I’m sick of the snow! I absolutely loathe it. I’d move to the south any day. Preferably Texas.
    I’m glad to see others who enjoy it, however. What fantastic idea for a snow themed day. Too cute!

  6. Will Blog for Shoes said,

    So fun! (I especially love the powdered sugar donuts!!)

Leave a Reply

