How do you get a haircut?

November 20, 2009 at 7:32 am (4 year olds)

Evan’s hair is such a battle for me sometimes. If he has a normal cut then it’s a fight for him to let me brush it in the morning.  I absolutely hate having “that kid” that looks like he just rolled out of bed in the morning & his Mom couldn’t even get it together enough to brush his hair!!  (Note:  That is what I thought before I had kids.  Now I realize that is Mom probably was just choosing to pick her battles & her child’s hair wasn’t the biggest battle of the day!!)

Either way, I like Evan to look clean, put together, well dressed (that does not read nice/expensive clothes, just whatever he wears may he wear it well, etc.).  But for about the last year and a half or more, the easiest solution to this battle has been a buzzed head!!

Evan does great when I take him to a salon for a haircut, but can I just say that it hurts my heart & my CHECKbook to pay $20+ for someone to buzz his head!!!  That’s crazy to me!!  I’ve done the Great Clips thing, the cute little kid places, and even barber/salon shops but when it’s all said & done it’s $20-$25 bucks.  To SHAVE the kids’ head!!!

So my husband’s been shaving it for a while now.  The only difference is that at home – Evan does NOT co-operated. At.  All.  Not even a little bit.  He wiggles, he screams, he whines & he’s a pill.   So our solution for taking it off the top …

Haircut ...

... with Goggles!

This way it doesn’t get in his eyes (because Lord knows he can’t possibly keep them shut for 1 minute!!) and for whatever reason it’s fun to him!!  I think he can embody a character that way!!  He becomes the mean diver in Finding Nemo!

2 Comments

  1. Cheryl said,

    That is TOO FUNNY!!!! Those eyes!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m SURE he is pretending to be “someone”!!!!! He “cracks” us up!!!!!!!!!!!!! gami & papa

  2. African American Barbie said,

    First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in which I’d
    like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head
    before writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting
    my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first
    10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any recommendations or tips? Kudos!

Leave a Reply

