Thanksgiving countdown calendar

November 4, 2009 at 1:16 pm (Works for Me Wednesday)

WFMWI originally saw this idea when Impress Your Kids linked up to My Sweet & Simple Life.  Evan is all about the calendar these days.  He wants to know when his birthday is, when Christmas is, when … well any other holiday that equates to him getting a gift!!

So when I saw this Activities Tree I thought I would use it as a way for our family to countdown to Thanksgiving Day.  If you know me in real life, then you know I am anything BUT crafty!!  So you might be surprised when I decided to do this.  The inspiration piece was made of construction paper & then she laminated it so she could use it for different seasons throughout the year – brilliant!!

Is it mean to admit that I’m not a big fan of construction paper & I wish my fridge was clean again (without kid magnets & drawings – ha!)  So anyways, I attempted to make something fairly permanent & hopefully cute enough to hang in the house:)

So I started on my mission … and I actually finished it (almost) the very same day!!!  Another shocker for me!!


Here’s what I used:

1 thin sheet of birch wood for the backing

1 piece of magnetic sheeting w/self adhesive

*Note – I got super lucky & the birch wood was the exact same cut/size as the magnetic sheeting – no cutting required!!

Several sheets of printed paper – remnants worked perfect!

1 package of magnetic tape (I went for the pre-cut circles, but you could also use the long strips & cut)

Market to write

Craft Glue

Here’s what I did:

Line one side of the birch wood with the Self-Adhesive Magnetic Sheeting.

DSC01870

Line wood with Magnetic Sheeting

Glue paper to the magnetic sheet to make “pretty”.

Cut out the shape of a tree (I’m not crafty enough to have branches!!).

Cut out all the leaves (I just made one free-hand then traced & cut the others so they’d be similiar in size & shape).

DSC01873

Magnetic Leaves

Write the numbers for each day of “the count” on each leaf.Glue the leaves to the small magnetic tape.

And …

DSC01878

Our Thanksgiving Countdown Calendar

I still need to screw in hooks & tie a ribbon to hang it up.  And by self-admission it might be a “tad” busy.   But we’re going to keep it in our kitchen.  Each day we’ll remove a leaf & let Evan tell us one thing he’s thankful for that day (that should be interesting!!).  That leaf will then fall to the base of the tree & we’ll have our countdown:)

So if you don’t know me you may not be impressed but if you do then you should give me some comment love & pat me on the back … Either way, it works for me!

For more Works for Me Wednesday ( it’s the Holiday Edition) or to hook up to your own, visit We Are That Family!

4 Comments

  1. ohamanda said,

    SO SUPER CUTE. I’m totally impressed! WTG, Mandi!

  2. Alicia said,

    MANDI! I am VERY impressed! I love it! Great job :) Now will you make one for me ….haha

  3. staci said,

    Mandi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is awesome!

  4. Leigh said,

    Oh, that is so cute! I’ve never seen that magnetic sheeting before… I’ll have to find some!

Leave a Reply

