To blog or not to blog?

October 4, 2009 at 11:00 pm (blogging)

That is so the question.

I started this blog & wrote my very first post in May of 2007.  I honestly didn’t read that many blogs or knew about too many that were out there before I started mine.  All my Sisterchicks had one and as described in that first post, I was beginning to miss out on things.  They weren’t emailing me their stories any more.  Instead they were blogging their stories to the rest of the world!  Not that the whole world was reading, but they could if they wanted to!!  So not being one to be left out, I started this.  I didn’t even think it through – obviously not because the address is silly (mlbh.wordpress.com) and it doesn’t even match the name of my blog (It’s come to this) – which is silly also!  As I say in the side-bar “in order to keep up with my friends & family & have them keep up with me, it’s come to this – this blog” … see – silly!

I think the thing I’ve enjoyed most about starting my blog is that through it, I’ve read other blogs more.  I’ve learned practical things through money saving sites like MommySnacks, DealSeekingMom and Keeping the Kingdom First.  I’ve seen super wonderful crafty things & tips through sites like Living Locurto, Sweet Designs, Hostess with the Mostess & Cookie Monday.  Of course there’s dozens that I just enjoy keeping up with on a personal level – what’s going on in their lives, etc.  And then there’s a few that I’m just truly inspired by their personal stories & strength like The Williams Family Blog, The Macs & Bring The Rain.

But then there’s a few things like the very recent #Nestlefamily drama that became a firestorm through twitter, similar to the BlogHer drama over swag.  And yes, I know alot of that drama is more through Twitter, but still – the majority of those participating in the Twitter drama were bloggers  just acting down right mean & nasty!!  And I can’t forget about “B” or “April’s Mom” – which ended up to all just be a lie.

I’m debating about going to Blissdom 10 (must make that decision really fast!!)  with my Sisterchicks  – it could be a blog make or break.  I’ll either be sparked or I’ll be content otherwise.

I don’t really know where I’m going with this post and maybe that’s the whole point.  I don’t know where I want to go with my blog in general and depending on what I come across and read from someone else I’m either excited about blogging or absolutely disgusted.

4 Comments

  1. Amy said,

    Hi. Thanks for the mention:-) It’s crazy, I’m online all the time and for some reason have missed all the drama. Can you believe I had never heard of the Nestle drama until going to a bloggers meet-up?? I was happy to know most of the bloggers had never heard of it either. You can definitely choose to stay out of the drama and just write and be a part of community with friends. Do what makes you happy, because blogging does take up so much time. If it wasn’t fun for me, I sure wouldn’t do it. Good luck with your decision:-)

  2. It's Come To This said,

    Hi Amy – Thanks for the comment:) You’re totally right that it should be fun! And I didn’t really express that – I do enjoy it alot! I love it when I’m “in the groove”, I guess it’s more of those times when I don’t feel like I have much to say or when I get discouraged b/c of all the “drama” going on else where on blog-world.

    Thanks again for the advice!!

  3. Will Blog For Shoes said,

    I know exactly where you’re coming from! I, however, got pretty caught up in wanting my blog to be something big. It just didn’t seem like I had what it took to be all big time. Then, my blog got hacked & when hubby fixed it, it messed up my feed and so no one was even reading anymore. I took that as a sign and quit blogging altogether. After a few months (or more), I got to the point where I missed having that little outlet & the personal connections I was making. So I prayed for peace & contentment with not being anything special in the blogosphere, then started posting again. The best part is that people started reading again– not a lot, but the special people that I’d made connections with before.

    As far as Blissdom goes, I’d love to go for the social aspect of it. But it’s pretty expensive for those of us that aren’t super connected or that make $$ from our blogs. I figure I’ll eventually get to meet up with all the bloggers that I want to hang out with. I just can’t (at least at this point) pay $300 to do it. I’d rather put that money towards a plane ticket to somewhere I’ve never been before to meet up with a blogger or bloggers that I’ve connected with! I’m totally not knocking Blissdom, I think it’s a great thing and it sounded like so much fun last year. And I’ll go ahead and admit that I won’t be on twitter or FB while it’s going on because I’ll be so stinkin’ jealous! ;)

    Sorry for the super long comment that probably didn’t help you decide anything at all. Just want you to know that I’ve been there (and still find myself there from time to time) and I know that you’ll figure out exactly what your blog needs to be to fit into your life.

    Oh, and I do vote that you keep posting–even if it’s stuff that seems mundane to you. Your babies are so close in age to mine, so I love reading!!

    {{HUGS}}

    • It's Come To This said,

      Thank you! I think you’re right with me, or I’m right where you were:) If I do something I want it to be the best I can do & so in some ways I want it to be bigger than it is. You definitely bring up some good thoughts about the conferences & basically said exactly what I was thinking. We’ve actually joked with Amanda that she’s just invited us so she can have in-house groupies fall her around at Blissdom:)

Leave a Reply

