Family recipe fridays – white chili

October 1, 2009 at 10:02 pm (Family Recipe Fridays)

FFR Fall is in the air here in Atlanta & I am LOVING it!!! There’s so many things I love about fall.  But one of my favorites is chili!!  Every now & then I’ll make chili during the summer just because.  But it’s not the same as eating it on a brisk night, watching a football game!

I love most any kinds of chili, but one of my husband’s favorites is our White or Chicken Chili – I’ve heard it called both ways.  Or you can call it White Chicken Chili but isn’t that like calling a kettle black?!?!  Hahaha (to myself).

It’s super easy, so here it is – White Chili/Chicken Chili/White Chicken Chili

Here’s what you’ll need:

6 Boneless Chicken Breasts, brown in a little oil & cut into cubes

4 Cans of White Northern Beans, including juice

1 8oz container of Sour Cream

1 8oz block of Monterrey Jack Cheese w/Jalapenos (or Pepperjack)

1 Can of Rotel

Salt/Pepper to Taste

Here’s what you’ll do:

Cook in Crockpot on Low or High Heat (depending on how much time you have).

Yep … that’s it!

Those are the basics anyways.  I change it just about every time we cook it.  Some times I’ll cook it on the stove top instead of the Crockpot.   Sometimes I’ll add fresh Jalepenos, an onion or an extra can of Rotel.  Sometimes I’ll shred the chicken instead of cubing it & sometimes I’ve even bought a Rotisserie chicken pre-cooked from the grocery store.

So if you try it I hope you enjoy it!

For more Friday Family Recipes or to link up your own, visit The Vanderbilt Wife!

Leave a Reply

