The grass is always greener

September 17, 2009 at 10:17 pm (life)

… on the other side.

But what about when you’re on the fence?  Is there a saying for that?  I guess it’s just “on the fence” right?

My posts have been very sporadic recently.  I’d love to say that I’ve been super busy doing super cool things or traveling to super wonderful places, but I haven’t done any of that.  In fact it’s been just the opposite & it’s been draining on me.  I feel so blah right now.  I have several blog drafts open right now & they’re all just blah.  I hate to whine so I just haven’t posted anything.  But I figured it out tonight.

I went shopping without any kids.  Helped get everyone in PJs and Megan in the bed and then took off for about an hour and a half (woohoo – girl gone wild!).  I hit TJ Maxx.   I was going to keep myself away from baby clothes & the HomeGoods section.  My goal was to buy something for myself.  Something besides a shirt from Old Navy.  I tried clothes on, some actually looked good & alot didn’t.  But I didn’t buy anything.  I came home & told my husband I was too blah to shop.  He made me sit down & talk because if I’m too blah to shop then something’s wrong.

So I told him I figured it out.

I want to be skinny (and buy skinnier clothes – thus the reason I didn’t buy anything tonight).  BUT I really want a Peanut Buster Parfait from Dairy Queen.

I want to spend money on clothes for me & buy what fits, what makes me look & feel good.  BUT I really want to pay off my credit card.

I want to work again or maybe not work but I want to have a good reason to get showered & dressed nice each morning.  BUT I really want to stay home with my kids.

I want long hair again just to see if I’d like it.  BUT my hair is short right now so that’s not happening overnight.

I want to repaint the kitchen.  BUT I have no idea what color.

I’m on the fence.  I’m a little blah.  So that’s where I’ve been.  Hopefully I won’t stay here long … it’s just a little funk.  Maybe I’ll change my hair color or something!

3 Comments

  1. Alicia said,

    Oh Mandi, I can SO relate! Thanks for writing this because I think ALOT of stay at home moms go through this! Alot of women in fact go thru this! It is very normal to go through blah moments! We always want to be what we are not…skinnier, prettier, a better mom, more frugal, a workingmom/stay at home mom….etc…It IS just SO Hard SOMETIMES!!!! By the way, I think you look fabulous and you have done an amazing job at getting in shape after two babies! Give yourself a little break…eat that peanut butter parfait just not everyday :0)

  2. staci said,

    I went through a funk a few weeks ago. Just kind of wanted to disappear and not do anything for a while.

    I feel the same way you do about your points…except the 3rd one (for obvious reasons) and the last one (because I just repainted mine).

    Seems like we always want what we don’t have. I know you are not where you want to be weight-wise, but you look great! Truly amazing! So jealous that you’ve been able to stick to that health plan. That takes a whole lot of will power that I’m just not good at.

    I know you don’t want to spend money on clothes yet b/c you’re not the size you want, but a couple of pieces here and there could be just the motivation you need to keep going.

    Love you!

  3. Will Blog For Shoes said,

    Me too! Me too! Me too! Oh you have spoken (ok, blogged) by exact thoughts & feelings of late.

    I hope you feel “off the fence” and less blah soon!

Leave a Reply

