The dinosaur party

August 12, 2009 at 7:56 am (4 year olds, birthdays, dinosaurs, parties)

DSC01384This past weekend we celebrated Evan’s 4th birthday!!  I love birthdays.  I love celebrations.  I love celebrating my kids.  I love giving them birthday parties!!!  In my mind they are always a little better, a little more fun, a little more organized, a little more extravagant than they actually turn out but if I know I’ve done the best I can to give them something that makes them happy & that they possibly can’t forget then I’m happy. 

Evan still talks about his 3rd birthday party.  He got to ride “the horses”.  He doesn’t remember that it rained & we had to all go home early … but he does remember “the horses”!  I hope his 4th birthday is one that he’ll remember next year as well! 

He’s been “into” dinosaurs for a while now so I had plenty of time to prepare.  I decided to go with the “station” concept.  I think organized games & events are great for certain parties & certain ages, but at his age it’s still a birthday party for all – older & younger cousins, friends, grandparents, parents of the friends, etc.  With mixed ages of guests “stations” just seem to make more sense to me.  That way everyone can participate at their own pace & their own time!  When you have ages ranging from 2-8 it seems impossible to get them all to do the same thing – is that possible?!?

So we had four stations setup.  One was the Dinosaur Dig – guests got a hat, a bag, and a brush.  They brushed around in the sand searching for dinosaurs, fossils, and bones!  Super easy – just a leftover swimming pool, some bags of sand, plastic toys & cheap paint brushes.  When we went to the T-Rex Cafe in Orlando earlier this summer, they used brushes with their sand – SO much better than shovels because it wasn’t near as enticing to throw sand with the brushes as with shovels!  I also lucked out & found some wooden puzzle pieces at Michael’s – they were very “fossil” looking.

DSC01400

DSC01403 

An even super, super easier station was the “Color-A-Saurus” (clever – huh?) – guests could sit & color to their hearts content!  Every little kid likes to color so I knew this was a “safe” station … even if they didn’t like the others!  It’s also a good ice breaker if anyone in the group is a little shy.

DSC01387

We also had a “Dino Fossil Find“.  We got lucky on another find.  This time at The Dollar Store.  My mom found these little fossil kits, complete with everything you need – an egg & two tiny tools.  There were bones (super tiny) inside that “should have” made a baby dinosaur.  It didn’t exactly work out that way, but it was messy & the kids seemed to enjoy at least breaking the egg & trying to find the treasures inside!!

 DSC01388

DSC01406

The fourth station was even easier than the Coloring one.  Evan had a great floor dinosaur puzzle – so we pulled that out from his toy room.  We called this one “Earth Shakes” (pulled straight from The Land Before Time series”). 

 DSC01393

And finally, we couldn’t pass this up!!

 DSC01480

So that’s the party – part 1.  I figured this post was getting too long to continue with all the food & “other stuff”.  But I’ll post more about that later … because of course you can’t have a party without food!!

 

5 Comments

  1. oh amanda said,

    YAY! SO creative, Mandi! Lydia had SUCH a fun time!

  2. MamaHall said,

    so fun! i’m really getting into “boy” bday party ideas, even tho my little guy has only had 1 bday so far :) just in case he has a “prehistoric passion”, thanks for the dino party ideas!

  3. Rebekah said,

    That is so creative! looks like a great time and lots of fun!!

  4. The closing of a decade « it’s come to this … said,

    […] Celebrated Evan’s 4th Birthday with a Dinosaur Extravaganza […]

  5. Things i love thursday … from the four year old « it’s come to this … said,

    […] may remember that this little  four year old loves dinosaurs.  And we hosted the Dinosaur of all Dinosaur Birthday Parties.  So when I found these in the store, I knew they’d be a […]

Leave a Reply

