One of the lucky ones

June 22, 2009 at 10:13 am (family) ()

I was one of the lucky ones.  I grew up with a Dad that knew what that word & that role meant.  He worked hard for his family, supported our hobbies & decisions and loved us when those decisions weren’t good.  He coached little leagues & basketball teams, taught Wednesday night classes & was always serving in church.  He was a great example.   And I’m still lucky to have him around now.  Lucky enough to still have a great relationship with him.  Lucky enough to see him be an awesome Papa to my children.

I’m also lucky enough to see my husband be that same type of incredible Dad to our children.  Yesterday he got up early & made breakfast for the family (I know I should have made a Father’s Day breakfast, but instead I bought everything & let him do it – he enjoys its & he does a MUCH better job at breakfast than I do!).  He then served in the 1-year old room with me at church, went to a local Antique Fair with me (don’t feel bad – he agreed because he knew there’d be some old instruments there.  He was right.  And he went home with one!!), and then went to my parents house for dinner where we stood out in the heat for about an hour taking family pictures.  He was a good sport on a day that he should have been able to call the  at least some of shots!!

So, even though he’ll never read this … I love you!  Thank you for being the wonderful Dad that you are – for knowing what that word really means & for fulfilling that in our children!!

DSC01046

1 Comment

  1. Becky said,

    You guys are all lucky!

Leave a Reply

