Coca-Cola Salad

June 19, 2009 at 8:46 am (Family Recipe Fridays, recipes)

I suppose I should start this one with brutal honesty – I don’t think I’ve ever actually tried this recipe that I’m about to give out!  I realize that’s not very fair.  I mean who really wants to try a recipe if the person giving it to you has never tried it herself??

But I wanted to participate in the Vanderbilt’s Wife Family Recipe carnival, so I pulled out my trusty Family Recipe Cookbook and started flipping the pages.  Being an Atlanta girl, anything with Coca-Cola in it sparks my interest.  Plus it’s a fruit salad so with temps reaching triple digits this weekend, I figured a chilled salad recipe was much more appropriate than the Brunswick Stew recipe that I started to share!!!  And, my grandmother gave me the recipe … I trust her, so I’ll go out on a limb & say that you can trust me:).

So, enough rambling – here’s a Coca-Cola Salad the way my “Mama-Lou” makes made it!

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 pkg. cherry gelatin

1 small can crushed pineapple, drained

1 can pitted cherries

1 c. pecans, chopped

1 c. hot water

1 can Coca-Cola (and absolutely NO substitutions in my neck of the woods!!)

Here’s what you do:

Pour hot water over gelatin & stir well.  Add pineapple, cherries, and pecans.  Pour in Coca-Cola & stir well.  Refrigerate overnight & serve chilled.

Hope you enjoy … and if you do, let me know so I’ll give it a try!!!

For more Family Recipe Fridays or to link up to your own, visit The Vanderbilt Wife.

Leave a Reply

