Remembering & creating

April 19, 2009 at 9:27 pm (family)

Last Saturday we got together with my husband’s family to celebrate the life of his brother Jeremy, as I mentioned in this earlier post.  It’s become a tradition that on his birthday we all get together, stay busy, have fun, & try to help the cousins learn more about the Uncle they didn’t get to meet along the way.  Since his birthday fell on Easter Weekend this year, I incorporated our “event clues” into an Egg Hunt.   

 

 dsc00611 

 The clue in Egg #1 was some crackers … which to the boys mean we’re going to feed the ducks!!  There is a great pond, always full of ducks, at the cemetery.  The boys love to feed them & of course the ducks love to be fed!!  

 dsc00621

 We also did something that’s become a new tradition & released balloons – 24 this year for the age Jeremy would be turning.  This year I got 21 green balloons, 2 blue balloons in honor of his 2 nephews & 1 pink balloon in honor of his new niece. 

 dsc006323 

The clue in Egg #2 was a golf ball.  We had planned to play miniature golf but it was SOOOO windy & pretty cool that we decided to stay indoors & bowl instead.  I hadn’t been bowling in YEARS & Evan hadn’t ever been so it was alot of fun.  Jeremy enjoyed bowling alot so it ended up being perfect!!  But something not perfect – my score!!!  After all frames (of which I did in fact roll the ball each time), I scored a *choke*choke* 25.  As in twenty-five.  Is that even possible?!?  Apparently it was.  Now remember, I did have a bad back & my goal was for everyone to have fun … so with that in mind, everyone did better than me!!  Even Evan!

dsc00637 

The final Egg had some cherries inside.  You can’t celebrate someone without some yummy treats, so we ended up back at our house for some banana splits – complete with all the toppings!!  I also had some fun gifts left for everyone!  I had been searching & searching for a puzzle maker that would make a 2-picture collage … and at a reasonable price!!  I finally found one at Up In Pieces.  I was so pleased with how it turned out!  It came in an adorable little tin to hold the pieces & they did a great job with the layout!  Each of the boys got a custom puzzle with a picture of them fishing & a picture of their Uncle J-Bird fishing just like them when he was a little boy! 

dsc00605

For the adults – my Mother & Father In-Law, Sister-In-Law, & Husband … I gave each of them a picture “From Jeremy’s Nephews & Niece”.  They are laying on a blanket that my sister-in-law made for each of the boys after they were born.  The side you see in this picture is part of an old comforter that Jeremy loved alot as a kid.  The reverse side is a patchwork of some of his old shirts.  It’s of course our favorite blanket!!  

kids_p1 

 

Overall it was a nice day … we reflected & remembered and we also created some new fun, sweet memories!

We love you Jeremy!!!

6 Comments

  1. Becky said,

    Oh, Mandi. How sweet.

  2. staci said,

    What a great day! Great memories. I’m a little embarassed by the bowling score, though. You’re the sister of the Lee University Intramural Bowling Champion!

  3. AmyG said,

    It looks like it was a beautiful day!! I’m sure that Jeremy was celebrating with you!

  4. KAT said,

    Mandi, how creative and thoughtful all of those things are! What a blessing you are to your family and to all of us!

  5. Mandy said,

    Awe, Mandi! Pepper’s family is so lucky to have you! You really do make Jeremy’s birthday a special day for everyone and I know they appreciate it!! AND I just cried my eyes out!!

    p.s. who knew Staci was such a good bowler!!!!

  6. Feeding the ducks « it’s come to this … said,

    […] it like that … I won’t fill in all the details in this post, but you can click here or here to understand what that means […]

Leave a Reply

