Sneak peak giveaway

March 18, 2009 at 2:45 pm (blogging, giveaways, weight loss) (, )

I’m so excited!  I was starting a Draft for the Ultimate Blog Party earlier this week & wanted to have a giveaway.  Because let’s face it – the UBP is fun & a great way to meet bloggers, but like any other party it’s all about the door prizes!!!  I wanted to giveaway something that any woman would LOVE to win.  The first thing that came to mind was an easy way to lose 20 lbs!  And I have the secret – and no, I’m not going all OPRAH crazy on you! 

I, like many other Americans, made the most popular resolution of all time – to lose weight!  And on January 4th I started a diet plan that’s really been working.  I’ve never dieted before.  Notice I didn’t say “I’ve never needed to diet before” … oh no, no, no.  Just that I’ve never chosen to actually do it.  I’m not good at giving up stuff – I think that’s why I never started drinking or smoking.  If I had to give up chocolate like someone trying to kick a smoking or drinking habit I would seriously go into withdrawals & shocks!!!  I also go back to my childhood.  There were SO many things that I gave up on.  Piano, Flute, Basketball, Cheerleading, Ballet, and the list goes on!  So to this day I can do a little bit of alot but not one thing can I do incredibly well – seriously!!  In some alot of ways, I’m scared to start something new because I absolutely HATE the thought of failure!!  Diets included. 

So once I decided this was the year, I looked into a couple options.  And I got really lucky.  I picked the right book & the right plan.  It was well written, super easy to follow – no counting involved!!!  And had great recipes & common sense for a life plan. 

And the result?  Eight weeks into it & I lost 20 lbs!!  Yipee! 

So back to the giveaway & why I’m so excited.  I wish I could say that myself & my blog were so popular that this company contacted me … but that’s just not true.   So instead, I contacted the company & asked if they’d be interested in me giving a copy of the book away on their behalf.  And they said yes!  

SO – come back on Friday for the UBP to find out what it is & for you chance to win!!

9 Comments

  1. Erin B said,

    I must know what this is! PLEASE!

  2. KAT said,

    Mandi! 20 lbs! That is great! Can’t wait to hear about this one!

  3. Becky said,

    I can’t wait to see you!

  4. thebluestockingguide said,

    Hey, I’ve got my post up already! I’ve got giveaways the whole week.

    2009 Party Post

  5. Rebekah said,

    I can’t wait to see what book it is!!!!

  6. Alicia said,

    I can’t see what the book is too :-) Way to go on the 20 pounds too! That is awesome mandi!

  7. Welcome to the party « it’s come to this … said,

    […] 116 on the list.  You most definitely want to check it out!!  I wrote a longer post about it here.  And if you’re looking to shed some pounds, I think you’ll like it as much as I […]

  8. Procrastination, busy, lazy or a combo of all? « it’s come to this … said,

    […] some more, purge my inbox, finish my post on how much I love Joy Bauer’s book that i started here, and a bunch of other stuff that’s not incredibly exciting but still must get […]

  9. Happy new year! « it’s come to this … said,

    […] 18 lbs.  – I got a good start on my weight loss goal last year.  In 2009, I wanted to lose 42 lbs.  I had hoped to come in on the last day of 2009 with a 29 […]

Leave a Reply

