Being rachel ray

October 30, 2008 at 9:52 am (life, life with two)

When I was young, I was told I talked to myself alot.  Nobody had to actually tell me that, because of course I knew I did it.  But I think it’s gotten worse now that I’m at home with two little ones full time now.  There’s something about not having adult conversation too much – especially when you go from a job where you have intelligent conversations (or at least pretend to be intelligent) to talking about dinosaurs, “the man with the yellow hat” and cowboys!!  Mix in several feedings & diaper changes along the way & I guess talking to myself is my form of expression – sad isn’t it?!?

Two things made me realize I’m doing it more & more.  One – Evan asked me who I was talking to in the car the other day.  Poor thing, I’m going to give him a complex.  And two – while I was making Becky’s Chicken Pot Pie (yum-o) I realized I was having conversations in my head as if I was Rachel Ray making it for my studio audience!!!  I think I need to get out more!

Oh & in case you’re wondering (but probably you’re not), my favorite “line” during my studio audience taping was, “and lastly add the chicken … it wouldn’t be Chicken Pot Pie without the chicken (giggle to self)”!

2 Comments

  1. Becky said,

    Oh, Mandi- I remember those days! That is too funny!

  2. ohamanda said,

    And that’s why I have a blog. To have adult “conversation”…even if it is via the internet! LOL!

Leave a Reply

