Through the eyes of a three year old

August 11, 2008 at 6:30 pm (2008, 3 year olds, Olympics) ()

Ok, so he hasn’t even been a three year old for a full week yet, but still he’s three.

We’ve been watching some of the Olympics – are you??  Women’s gymnastics is my favorite.  I still remember watching the women win GOLD when ATL hosted in 1996 – I was on vacation with the family in FL.  I can also get into some swimming & soccer.  And then there’s Bob Costas … I love all his “stories” each night.  I can pretty much root for anyone after he gives their background story.

So back to the three year old – in between catching the events that I enjoy, by default you usually end up seeing some others along the way.  Most of which he’s never seen before (some of which I haven’t or can’t even comprehend why they’re Olympic sports anyways)!!  So in his mind he has these questions and concerns:

Beach Volleyball:  “But why don’t they have their shoes on.  They need to have their shoes on so they don’t get hurt.  And what is all that writing on their swimsuit?”

Women’s Gymnastics:  “But where are there pants?  Why don’t they have their pants on?”

Fencing:  “What are they wearing?”  (Can’t answer that one exactly – I think they look pretty silly too & I DEFINITELY don’t understand that “sport”)

Can’t wait to see what questions come out of sync. swimming or power walking!

5 Comments

  1. staci said,

    They gymnastics question is the funniest, by far!

  2. Liz said,

    My favorite were the gymnastics in Atlanta ’96, too! Unforgettable moments!

  3. ohamanda said,

    Power walking is a SPORT?

  4. Erin said,

    Ashlynn will do her hands in a diving position, and run around the house like she is swimming. Thats her favorite to watch!

  5. KAT said,

    Funny stuff!
    I am completely engrossed/obsessed with these olympics! They are so interesting to me!

Leave a Reply

