How are you feeling?

August 10, 2008 at 9:31 pm (pregnancy, pregnant) ()

Amanda emailed me this evening with about a dozen misc. questions for one thing or another.  One of those questions included something along the lines of you’re getting so close … how are you feeling?  With nothing but love, I know that she asked that question part with real concern & part rhetorically speaking … I’m 37 weeks pregnant so that’s what most people (strangers included) ask when they see me!! 

Too bad I couldn’t give the pat answer that she probably wanted, because …

I was feeling pretty good … just getting incredibly uncomfortable!!  But last night I started noticing that my eyes were watering alot & just feeling overall wierd (vision was blurry, but more so b/c of the excess water, etc.).  Then this morning I was feeling fine but started seeing some stars (that happens every now & then to me anyways b/c of my low iron so I just passed them both off).  So we went to church & then to Square Peg Meeting.  As soon as we got in the car to leave Staci asked me what was wrong with my face.  I didn’t know what she was talking about & she said the whole meeting half my face looked paralyzed like from a stroke & my eyes were blinking independently of one another!!!  So I looked in the mirror & smiled … OMG!!!!  I have a sideways smile & one eye closes all the way while the other will barely close at all!!!!  I self diagnosis online as Bells Palsey, but b/c I’m 37 weeks pregnant everything I read & my mother insisted I call my doctor, I went ahead & called her & she wanted me to go to an ER to have it confirmed … I REALLY DID NOT WANT TO DO THIS … BUT being 37 weeks pregnant I also didn’t want to go against the dr’s orders.  So a trip to the ER (fortunately they weren’t busy), a ridiculous co-pay later, and two prescriptions I’ve been diagnosed with Bells Palsey!!!  I look absolutely RIDICULOUS!!  So some crazy nerve is inflamed & the medicine & TIME will make it better … who knows how long that will be though!! 

Needless to say, I won’t be smiling for many pictures anytime soon … like with my brand new baby girl!!!

How’s that for “how are you feeling”?

6 Comments

  1. Becky said,

    Oh, Mandi- I hate this for you! ((hugs))

  2. Erin said,

    Im so sorry. Hopefully this baby will come soon.

  3. Alicia said,

    OMG Mandi! That is horrible! I hope it gets better soon and your baby girl arrives soon for your sake!

  4. Erin said,

    I’m sorry you have to go through this. I had Bells Palsy about 6 years ago. It wasn’t fun, but it also does go away. I’ll pray that you’ll recover quickly!

  5. ohamanda said,

    Mandi, I was just about to email you back about this! I just CANNOT believe it! Is this normal for preggos? *sigh* I’m so sorry. But am GLAD I asked! :)

  6. KAT said,

    Oh Mandi! I can’t believe that! One of the kids in the ministry got that a couple of years ago while at Camp Rocks! I really hope it goes away soon for you!

Leave a Reply

