It’s a Party!

March 8, 2008 at 9:37 am (2008, blogging, Ultimate Party Blog)

Or so that’s what I hear.  I love hosting parties, although I don’t think I’m that particularly good at it and since I’ve never hosted one online before there’s absolutely no telling how this one will come off!  My guess is probably not that good – afterall, I really don’t even know what this is all about but I was called out challenged to participate.

My name is Mandi.  I live in GA with my husband, two-year old son and little baby on the way.  The baby on the way actually still lives in me, but technically since I’m in GA then so is he (or she) … I’m thinking it’s boy #2, but that’s just a hunch.  I’ll know for sure soon enough.

fam0607.jpg

After our son was born I tried to continue working but that got tough.  I enjoyed my job with a User Research Firm in ATL, but not enough to get over the ‘torn’ feeling I had.  So after a year I resigned.  I enjoyed being at home but in some wierd way still missed working.  After a year at home, I went back to work at the same company in a contract role of very part-time position that’s of course ended up more non-part time than part-time.  But with Spring Break & Summer Vacations approaching, that time is coming to end.  I’ll then be back full-time with the little guy & getting ready for the new one on the way.

I started this blog originally because my girlfriends (Sisterchicks – see below) all had a blog and our 20+ daily emails to each other went to zero because there was no need to email anymore – they had all already blogged about it.  So for me to keep up with my Sisterchicks “it came to this“.   

I normally end up blogging about really important & incredibly interesting topics (read with complete sarcasim).  Unfortunately I rarely blog about anything important or interesting.  And since my camera’s been on the brink recently the posts are even more boring than needed.  Here’s a link or two to my favorite, better, interesting, better among the worst posts, just to give you a better idea of who I am:

 Big News – well this is the one where I announced some Big News.

My Little … Celebrity – this one I just like because of the picture:)

The Great Eight – this one was just fun for me to write & ‘relive’.

The the Picture behind the Picture – this one just makes me smile.

So that’s scary – I just summed up the best of the worst into four posts … I’m sure you’ll be back for more!!!

So enough about me … let’s get to the prizes.  So since I have to narrow it down to three, my top picks would be … 

1.  The Baby Candy T-Shirt from Baby Candy (because of the little one on the way)

2.  The $50 Gift Certificate from Paperlicious (because who wouldn’t want that)

3.  The Blog Makeover from Shauna (because my blog could certainly use a makeover).

But of course I’d also be really happy with these too: 

4.  The $23 Cash from Kristin at An Ordinary Life (because it’s cash … what a better way to celebrate her Birthday)!

5.  Chocolate – (enough said) – by The Chocolistas.

 So thanks for stopping by … happy party hopping!

22 Comments

  1. Michie said,

    Thanks for inviting me by. My daughter is a year older than your son, and I can’t imagine having another on the way. :)

  2. ohamanda said,

    Look at you doing a bloggy thing! I love it!

  3. jayedee said,

    nicetameetcha! i’m jayedee, mom of 12, living in the sunshine state! party on dudette! lol. if you love chickens (and what woman doesn’t love chickens?) check out the awesome giveaway on my blog this week!

  4. Linda said,

    Welcome to the party!!! Congrats on your lil one!

  5. Heidi said,

    How fun! Found you via the blog party- looking forward to reading more! :)

  6. Stacey said,

    Oh how great to have a group of friends that are so important to you! Glad I found you at the party!

  7. acupofjoy said,

    I’m inviting you to party with me!

    Win some chocolate from my-sister-in-law and I…we blog about CHOCOLATE…me from Australia…and her from Michigan. Here’s the link: http://thechocolistas.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    What am I doing in Australia? I married an Aussie…and moved to Brisbane, leaving my family and friends and all the right-side-of-the-road drivers in America.

    Win a handmade pocket place mat from my blog Comfort Joy Designs. Here’s the link:
    http://comfortjoydesigns.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    Want to know more about life in Australia? Visit my A Cup of Joy site where I keep up with my family and friends in America. Here’s the link:
    http://acupofjoy.wordpress.com/

    Happy Partying!

  8. Chick said,

    What a sweet looking family you are! Good luck with the new baby.

  9. Erin said,

    Welcome to the party!

  10. We are THAT family said,

    Great blog! Love it. Happy Party . . . hop over to mine! Blessings.

  11. kristin said,

    Well happy party! I know corny idea give away 23 dolars for turning 23 but I couldn’t think of anything else. haha I hope you wina nd thank you for including me. If you ever like contest I ahve plenty going on on my blog I will be posting a great new one tomorrow as well as my current $100 cash and Sleepy Wrap giveaway. Just see the contest tab up top.

  12. tracey said,

    Blog hopping, here! Nice to meet you!

  13. Kelly said,

    Thanks for your comment! I love reading about Staci – she seems so sweet! I’m glad to hear from you! You have a cute family!

  14. Kristen said,

    Look at you stepping up to the plate! Very cool synopsis!

  15. scampsplace said,

    Nice to meet you. I’m a SAHM to 2 year old little girl. Your Sisterchicks look like a lot of fun! I only knew one other person that blogged when I started. Now, I have some really close friends that I’ve never seen in person! Strange, huh, but so much fun! Please come by and visit me at Scamp’s Place and Teen Lit Review (http://teenlitreview.blogspot.com) for some book giveaways.

  16. hljourney said,

    LOL – it’s wonderful your friends got you to join us all and ‘party’ here for the UBP! I love the name you’ve given yourselves – sisterchicks! That’s great – have you ever heard of the group – Superchick? They’re a Christian Pop group, I really love their song, “We Live, We Love!” You’ll have to check it out sometime. I look forward to ‘hanging’ out with you in the future in blogville…

    God Bless, HL

  17. jenni at talking hairdryer said,

    Welcome to the party! I think you’ll enjoy meeting all the new bloggers! Have a great week blog hopping and if you get a chance, stop by my place. I’m doing an office makeover.

  18. Nicole said,

    Just stopping by to crash your party! Sisterchicks! I have those too, but they don’t blog – and take forever to answer a darn email. Maybe I should call them out (I mean challenge them) to start a blog of their own too!

  19. Pamela Kramer said,

    Guess who won prize #27?
    Yep it’s you! Please be patient while the prize donor is contacted. They will be in touch with you soon. Congratulations!!!!!!!

  20. Stephanie @ Twist and Shout said,

    Well good news and bad news. First the bad news you didn’t win any of the prizes that were your top choices. But, now the GOOD NEWS, you did win! You won a custom tie dyed layette set (hat, onesie and receiving blanket) So contact me twistandshoutcreations@gmail.com so we get this started for you. However, if you have absolutely no need for a tie dyed layette set (I think your little man might be too big) we can come up with something that will suit you! CONGRATS!!!

  21. Storm said,

    Still hopping from blog to blog… my goal is to post at each blog at least once. Nice to meet you. Happy blogging!

  22. Results from The Ultimate Blog Party 2008 Group Writing Project } Group Writing Projects said,

    […] at Learning Mama 624. So Many Scraps 625. College Mum 626. FireMom @ Stop, Drop & Blog 627. Mandi – It’s Come to This … 628. Monkey Giggles 629. Julieann 630. Amy (Amazon GC door prize!) 631. I Love Mr. Pibb 632. Sherry […]

Leave a Reply

