First Day!

September 5, 2007 at 8:03 pm (2year olds, first day, preschool)

I know you’re probably tired of “little guy” stories by now, but what can I say – he makes up most moments of my life!! One of those moments was this week – his first day at MMO (Mother’s Morning Out, Pre-Preschool, whatever you want to call it)!

We had open house last week & he got to meet his teachers, see his classroom, play for a little while (with me still there) and just get comfortable with the place. He remembered all of that as we were driving into the parking lot & he was all smiles … he was excited to play with the train tracks & of course go outside on the playground. He was walking down the halls carrying his bag & really excited, until …

we turned the corner & I saw that his classroom door was closed (not a good sign for 2-year olds). I had a feeling this meant that at least one was crying &/or trying to escape. That one happened to be more than 1 (at least 3 or 4, but I think I lost track). That’s about the time that the “domino effect” hit the little guy & he too joined in on the crying action!! We said our short & sweet bye-byes & out I went.

When I picked him up, he didn’t see me at first but I saw him. He was happy, playing with toys & with other children … then he saw me. And then he started crying again – relief I guess, that I came back.

On the way home, he talked all about the playground & tracing his hand (you lay it flat … that’s what he kept telling me).

This is a picture of the ride home. Tomorrow is day 2 … only time will tell!

4 Comments

  1. ohamanda said,

    So sweet! I can just see him crying when he realized you were back! He’s such a cutie!

  2. Kristen said,

    Big boy stuff, right there! I’m so glad you brought him to practice the other night! He is the cutest!

  3. Alicia said,

    What a big boy! I bet he has a blast while he is there. Madison does the crying thing when I pick her up too….It’s like relief and excitement at all once.

  4. brandybuzz said,

    Poor thing:( That has been my whole week. I have been the traveling music teacher when it comes to the twos. That door has to stay shut because they want to escape! But it does feel pretty good that when they see Miss Brandy the crying stops! I guess I’m just magic! I know he had a good time playing! He is just too stink’n cute!!!

Leave a Reply

