Football Season has Begun!

August 27, 2007 at 10:39 pm (Atlanta Falcons, chili, football season, Georgia Bulldogs, recipes)

Granted, it’s only pre-season but does that really matter to most men around the country!?!  The title of this post may appear that I’m excited about football season beginning … and I’m not upset, but excited is probably a little strong.  I would say ‘impartial’.  The things I love most about the start of football season having absolutely nothing to do with football – it’s simply that fall is just around the corner!  Leaves changing colors & then falling, the crispness in the air … since temps have been 100+ here in the ATL recently, fall being just around the corner is a beautiful thing!!!

Now don’t get me wrong, I also love to watch a good game of football, but between college & pro our TV will be consumed by football between now & the SuperBowl.  I think the main difference between me & a true football watcher (ok ‘main’ is definitely strong …. probably more like ‘one’ difference) that I watch to either pull for my team (Go Falcons … Go Dawgs) or pull for a ‘good story’ (I’m a sucker for good Bob Costas type stories)!  If it’s not my team, a playoff game, or a good story then I’m fine with some old mediocre television show or just “browsing” the web!

My other favorite thing about football … is the food!!!  It means I can officially start making chili – yum, yum.  I’m too tired to put forth the effort of posting my favorite chili recipe tonight, so I’ll leave that as a teaser for tomorrow’s post (I know all five of my readers will come back for that tomorrow … scratch that & make it four since one isn’t a fan of meat:)!

7 Comments

  1. Alicia said,

    Football season has started in this house for sure. STEELERS MANIA :)
    I’m ready for the chili too…yum:)

  2. ohamanda said,

    Oh, Lord. I’m glad Les doesn’t do football. Good thing I was born in ATL or I wouldn’t even know the dawgs and falcons played football!

    And look at you, planning a post a day ahead!!! Can’t wait!

  3. The Chili Recipe … that you’ve been ‘waiting’ for! « it’s come to this … said,

    […] 28th, 2007 at 10:03 am (football season, chili, recipes) To finish my post from last night … I prefer a hearty chili with lots of veggies, so if that’s not your cup of stew then […]

  4. brandybuzz said,

    I HATE FOOTBALL! I LOVE THE FALL!!!

  5. Kristen said,

    Ditto, Brandy!
    Great post, Mandi! Love it!

  6. Paul said,

    Here in FL, we don’t get Fall. I really miss it being from CT originally. So far its been HOT HOT HOT… wishing for football weather.

  7. Happy New Year! « it’s come to this … said,

    […] Football season is coming to a close – definitely NOT a good year for the Falcons.  The Dawgs did pretty good […]

Leave a Reply

