Top ten tuesday … winter olympic games

January 26, 2010 at 12:03 am (Olympics) (, , , , , , , , , )

There’s only 16  days until I’ll be cheering on the US in the 2010 Olympic Games in Vancouver.

If you’re like me then you may not know that much about all the events during the Winter Games.  Of course I like figure skating – Women’s the best.

So, allow me to teach you … Top Ten Tuesday Style!!

1.  Biathaloncombines cross-country skiing and rifle shooting.  Really.  I’m sure there’s a story behind that but that just sounds strange!!

2.  Bobsleigh – Just watch Cool Runnings for a history lesson in thisI totally loved that movie growing up!!

3.  Cross-Country Skiing – Oh my gosh.  Have you ever done this? I remember making the mistake of taking a cross-country path in Colorado once … I mean that’s like walking with 8′ shoes! (I guess because it is!)

4.  Curling – consists of two teams pushing 19.1 kilogram stones towards a series of concentric rings or circles on ice.  Pushing stones? That seems rather Flintstones-ish to me, but it began 500 years ago so I guess it was!

5.  Luge - Racing on an open, fiberglass sleds luge racers lay on their back & steer using their legs & shoulders.  They brake by sitting up and all events are timed to the thousandth of a second. That means they’re going really, really fast!!

6.  Nordic Combined – This sport combines a ski jumping portion followed by a free-technique cross-country race.  Using pack-racing strategies, the athletes cluster into “trains” that chase down other athlete trains!  That just sounds like a game my 4-year-old would make up!!

7.  Short TrackSpeed skating with tight corners that make it difficult to maintain control.  Otherwise, skate at your own risk because the person next to you might very well take you out!

8.  Skeleton – I’m sorry, but I don’t want any part of an event with a name like that!!

9.  Ski Jumping - Athletes ski down a long ramp and launch into air at speeds up to 95 kilometers per hour.  Or 59 miles per hour … through the air.  Flying.  Off a ramp!!

10.  Figure SkatingAwe it sounds so peaceful & beautiful to watch … doesn’t it?!!  I know it’s probably just as dangerous as the others, but it definitely sounds prettier!

So there’s the info at a glance.  You’re officially ready for the 2010 Olympic Games … Go USA!!

11 Comments

  1. christinesatterfield said,

    When you see the games listed out like this they do seem quite odd! Wonder how some of them came about. I do agree with you that Figure Skating is the best. Can’t wait to watch!

  2. ohamanda said,

    Mandi, I STILL can’t understand some of them! Isn’t it funny how sports have been around for 100s of years?!!

    I guess I’ll have to come back to this post when the games start so I’ll know what to TIVO. :)

    • It's Come To This said,

      I think the summer one usually has some really strange ones. But yes, it’s crazy that some sports have been around 100s of years and then some still seem so new like snowboarding.

  3. Jeni said,

    I love the winter games! I like the figure skating the best, but I enjoy the skiing and speed skating as well.

    • It's Come To This said,

      I LOVE the winter b/c of figure skating as much as I love the summer for gymnastics!!! But honestly, I could watch alot of the events all day just b/c everyone is so stinkin talented!!

  4. Allison said,

    I love ski jumping. I’m always amazed at what those athletes can do. Or really, what any of the Olympic athletes can do.

  5. adjunctmom said,

    My son is going to go ape when the Olympics start. I can’t wait. We’re going to do a whole unit study based on the Olympics so he can learn about all the sports. I’ll have him check out this list too for short cuts to what the different sports are.

    • It's Come To This said,

      The official Vanc. site that I linked to had some really neat info on each sport, with videos & everything. I’m sure you could get alot of info for his study there!! That’s awesome to study it during the actual olympics, I”m sure he’ll get alot out of it that way!!

  6. Krista said,

    I am such a HUGE fan of the Olympics! I can’t wait to sit down and watch from opening ceremonies til the closing ceremonies. It’s pretty much the only time I have the TV on the entire time I’m awake! I watch it all! I always tease that I’m going to become a professional curler so I can get into the Olympics! REALLY looking forward to them this year since they’re practically in our backyard (Pacific Northwest!). Super fun list!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

