I do … again!

August 21, 2009 at 7:01 am (anniversary, Pepper, wedding)

scan0001

Today my husband and I are celebrating our 10th Wedding Anniversary!! I’ve been blogging a little over two years now, so here’s a post from our Eighth Anniversary.  And then of course the big Ninth Anniversary.  Honestly, I’m no more excited about the “10th” than I was the “7th”.  What I’m most excited about is still being in a happy marriage.  Still being in happy marriage to someone that I would actually marry again today!!

Recently our pastor spoke briefly about “co-existing” relationships.  He pointed out that the county we live in has the highest divorce rate in surrounding metro cities of our state.  We also have the highest average income & housing prices – those probably help with the divorce statistic!  I NEVER want our marriage to be about the two of us co-existing!  Sure, I want each of us to have our separate hobbies, interests & free-time.  But on a whole, I want both of us to be in our marriage … to be a part of it.  Not to only love each other, but to be in love with each other!  I am not naive enough to think everything will always be peachy & perfect.  There’s definitely been times these past 10 years that it hasn’t, but I’m so thankful that I still love (and still like) the person that’s going through all of it with me!

The sappy line from Jerry Maguire, “you complete me”, has always been just that to me – sappy!  Earlier this summer, we were at our good friend’s wedding & the groom’s father was giving a speech.  He said marriage isn’t about giving 50/50.  If we each only bring 50% to the relationship it won’t be as strong as it can be.  We’ll be missing something.  We each must bring 100% … that’s the only way it will work.   And I believe that.  If we bring 50% we might co-exist & make it so we can say “Happy 20th Anniversary”, but I want more than to co-exist.

On my 11th, 15th, 20th … or whatever the number is … I want to be in a happy marriage.  I want to be in a happy marriage to someone that I would actually marry again that day!

pamHappy Anniversary Babe … I love you!!

5 Comments

  1. Julia said,

    This is so beautiful and I feel the exact same way! Happy Anniversary and my heart is so full of love for you and your handsome hubby! What a beautiful couple that you are!

  2. AmyG said,

    Happy Anniversary!!!

  3. staci said,

    Wow! You do have feelings, you lil cactus!! Hahaha! Hope you guys have a great night! Love you!

  4. Becky said,

    Happy anniversary- that was lovely!

  5. The closing of a decade « it’s come to this … said,

    [...] 10 Years of Marriage to my wonderful [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

