My “Break”

July 16, 2007 at 1:22 am (breaks, painting, weekend)

We just past the half-way point on Pep’s 2-week out of town status … basically he’ll be home in another week.  I guess that’s good news … one more week is certainly better than two, but one week is still a long way off when it’s already been one whole week – whew! 

This weekend my parents took Evan so I could have a little ‘break’.  However, instead of sitting around eating bon-bons & watching Oprah I chose to paint the entire basement!  I had been tired of the look & color for a while now, but at the same time I (primarly my ever talented and gracious sister Staci) had worked so hard on painting the basement the first time I hated to wash it all away with a new color.  We did this really cool ‘leathered’ look to the room, but the light never hit it just right – in fact it always hit it a little strange & made the walls look messy instead of leathery!   So I think I was just ready for a change.  Pep didn’t want me to repaint (probably b/c he knows I’m not a good painter & it would look messier if I tried to repaint it … which unfortunately he’s right to some extent), so I didn’t tell him & still haven’t … I think it’s best to just show it to him when he gets home as opposed to breaking that news over the phone!!  

Honestly he won’t care as long as he’s the one that didn’t have to paint it, so that’s one of the main reasons I wanted to do it this weekend he was gone, but the stinky part is that b/c I haven’t told him he truly thinks I’ve been sitting around eating bon-bons & watching Oprah this whole weekend while Evan’s been at my parents.  Every time I talked to him on the phone this weekend, I was hot, sweaty, tired, had sore hands & had paint all over me (I know you shouldn’t have sore hands or paint all over you, but remember … I’m not a good painter) & he kept saying “I’m so glad you took Evan to your parents … I hope you’re enjoying your “break”!!! 

He was being sincere & trying to be sweet, but it made me want to puke:)

Hope you’re weekend was a little “break”!

5 Comments

  1. staci said,

    Did you take any before and after pictures? Can’t wait to see it. By the way, does Pep ever read your blog?!?!? Cause it may not be a secret anymore!

  2. brandy said,

    It’s like one of those home makeover shows that you can’t tell your spouse about. I think I would choose the bon-bons and Oprah! Yeah our weekend was busy.

  3. ohamanda said,

    I’m with Brandy, I would have chosen the bon-bons & Oprah!!

    But, hey good for you! I would have never done that!

  4. Becky said,

    I think you’re crazy, but I’m impressed! We need pictures!

  5. Kristen said,

    What a cool surprise that will be when he gets home! Ooh I love surprises!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

